Mary Jane (candy)

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia - View original article

Jump to: navigation, search
Mary Jane Candies

Mary Jane is a peanut butter and molasses flavored taffy-type candy with peanut butter in the center. Originally made in 1914 by The Charles N. Miller Co., and later by Stark Candy Co.,[1] it is now manufactured by Necco.[1] Charles Miller named them after his favorite aunt, Mary Jane, and the candy has used the same "little girl" illustration on the wrappers since its inception.[2]

Mary Jane is dairy-free, egg-free, and gluten-free and is similar in style, taste and packaging to the Schutter-Johnson Company's (now Pearson's Candy Company) Bit-O-Honey, which appeared in 1924.


External links[edit]