Gun laws in Mississippi

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia - View original article

 
Jump to: navigation, search

Gun laws in Mississippi regulate the sale, possession, and use of firearms and ammunition in the state of Mississippi in the United States.

Subject/LawLong gunsHandgunsRelevant statutesNotes
State Permit to Purchase?NoNo
Firearm registration?NoNo
"Assault weapon" law?NoNo
Owner license required?NoNo
Carry permits issued?NoYesThe Mississippi Department of Public Safety shall issue a license to carry a concealed pistol or revolver to a qualified applicant within 45 days. The license is valid for five years. Concealed carry is not allowed in a school, courthouse, police station, detention facility, government meeting place, polling place, establishment primarily devoted to dispensing alcoholic beverages, athletic event, parade or demonstration for which a permit is required, passenger terminal of an airport, "place of nuisance" as defined in Mississippi Code section 95–3–1, or a location where a sign is posted and clearly visible from at least ten feet away saying that the "carrying of a pistol or revolver is prohibited". A license to carry a concealed pistol or revolver is required for open carry. A license is not required for transporting a concealed or visible firearm in a vehicle.
State Preemption of local restrictions?YesYesNo county or municipality may adopt any ordinance that restricts or requires the possession, transportation, sale, transfer or ownership of firearms or ammunition or their components. However, local governments may regulate the discharge of firearms, the carrying of firearms at a public park or public meeting, or the use of firearms in cases of insurrection, riots and natural disasters.
NFA weapons restricted?NoNoPermitted as long such possession is in compliance with all federal regulations
Peaceable Journey laws?

Mississippi[1][2] is a "shall issue" state for concealed carry. The Mississippi Department of Public Safety shall issue a license to carry a concealed pistol or revolver to a qualified applicant within 45 days. The license is valid for five years. Concealed carry is not allowed in a school, courthouse, police station, detention facility, government meeting place, polling place, establishment primarily devoted to dispensing alcoholic beverages, athletic event, parade or demonstration for which a permit is required, passenger terminal of an airport, "place of nuisance" as defined in Mississippi Code section 95–3–1,[3] or a location where a sign is posted and clearly visible from at least ten feet away saying that the "carrying of a pistol or revolver is prohibited". A license to carry a concealed pistol or revolver is required for open carry. A license is not required for transporting a concealed or visible firearm in a vehicle.[4][5][6]

Mississippi has state preemption of many but not all firearm laws. No county or municipality may adopt any ordinance that restricts or requires the possession, transportation, sale, transfer or ownership of firearms or ammunition or their components. However, local governments may regulate the discharge of firearms, the carrying of firearms at a public park or public meeting, or the use of firearms in cases of insurrection, riots and natural disasters.[7]

Lawsuits against manufacturers, distributors, or dealers for damages resulting from the lawful design, manufacture, distribution or sale of firearms are reserved to the state. However, local governments may bring suit for breach of contract or warranty or for defects in materials or workmanship.[8]

References